DIY / Vintage Cooking

Homemade Butter

Ok, so for today’s edition of Vintage Cooking, we are kicking it old school and sharing the time honored technique of making your own butter. I went out to a real farm, with real cows, and a real farmer to see how it’s done. Of course, when I came home to make it myself, well, I used a mixer instead of a churn and it is THIS new-fangled method which I am about to share with you today.

When making butter you will need:

  • heavy cream (right from the cow if you can get it, but store-bought heavy cream works too)
  • salt (just a pinch, and only if you like it salted. This can be optional)
  • mixer. (I use a stand mixer, but a hand mixer works too–just definitely use something electric and don’t try to whisk it–tooo much work!)

Place cream in mixer. Mix. That’s it. It will take about 5 minutes to have whipped cream, then from there it will continue to whip up until you have butter surrounded by white milky liquid. You will have successfully created butter, and buttermilk (DId you know buttermilk was because it was made from making butter? Neither did I!! This was an awesome learning experience for me). Plus, this buttermilk tastes great, where store bought buttermilk–not so much.

After it became butter, I used a smooth spatula to scrape the butter off the sides, and I poured the remainder through a napkin (though, really, cheesecloth is better and what I will use next time. I just didn’t have any at the time). to separate the butter from the buttermilk. Some websites recommend rinsing the butter. See here for instructions on that process. I did not rinse mine, and it turned out great. So maybe try both ways and choose the one you think tastes best! I stored mine in tupperware (again, because that was on hand) but you can also store it in little mason jars–which look so cute, and even make a great gift idea! This butter will freeze nicely as well, so making it in big batches ahead of time is perfect.

here are a few photos of the whole process for us:

Butter!!
I only used about 1/2 cup of cream for this, so it did not make a lot of butter! If you’re making for a family, I definitely recommend using 2 cups of cream at least.

This is buttermilk. The buttermilk separates from the butter when you’re mixing. it’s part of the way you know you’re done. 🙂 It does not taste bitter (or thick) like store-bought buttermilk.

My son taking the first bite! He loved it 🙂

Me tasting a little too. Spread on store bought white bread. Yummy!

That’s it! Amazing, isn’t it? Have you tried making your own butter? How did it turn out?

Leave a Reply

